Strand: Prayer, Liturgy and Sacraments (PLSL3-4E1)

Levels 3 and 4

The Sacraments of Christian initiation enable Catholic Christians to participate fully in the life of the Church, calling them to live lives of ministry and service in Jesus’ name.

Articulate the relationship between the Sacraments of Initiation and living out the mission of Jesus.


There are three Sacraments of Initiation: Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist. Baptism and Confirmation are only received once. At each and every Eucharistic celebration, also known as The Mass, the community present is sent out to live the mission of Jesus.

Examples in Scripture include but are not limited to:

Baptism: Matthew 3:13-17, Mark: 1: 1-11,

Confirmation: The apostles being commissioned – Matthew 4:18-22. Mark 16: 14-18.

The work of the Spirit: John 16- 4-15.

The Promise of the Holy Spirit. John 14: 15- 31. Acts 1-1-11.

The Coming of the Holy Spirit. Acts Chapter 2.

Eucharist: Luke 22-14-23.

See Learning Lites: Sacraments, Sacramentals & Sacramentality.

More Information

See Learning Lites: Sacraments, Sacramentals & Sacramentality.

External Links